Home > Reading > Sunday Salon: The White Tiger

Sunday Salon: The White Tiger

One of the main reasons I created this blog was so that I could participate in The Sunday Salon! On Saturday nights as I drift off to sleep I hear the soft chimes from my cell phone as readers start submitting their posts to the group and I know I’m going to have lots of good reading on Sunday morning.

I don’t read as many books as a lot of you do. I work outside the home and try to do something outside on weekends since I sit at a desk 40 hours a week. I’m actually quite pleased that I’ve managed to start and finish a total of four books this year… an amount some of you probably read in a week!

I haven’t really written a book review since they forced us to back in grade school, but here goes!

The book I read this month (ahem!) was The White Tiger by Aravin Adiga.  It won the Man Booker Prize in 2008, and according to the MBP website, went on to become one of the fastest selling novels in the prize’s history. I was not familiar with what exactly the Man Booker Prize is so I looked it up. It’s for full-length novels written in the English language by a citizen of the Commonwealth of Nations, Ireland, or Zimbabwe.

I chose this book, and several others, when I was reading The Millions: A Year in Reading series where they ask authors, editors, musicians and actors to write about the best books they’ve read that year.

The White Tiger is about a man in India named Balram Halwai. He tells the suspenseful story of how he went from being a servant to a successful business man (and murderer) via letters to the Premier of China that he writes over a series of seven nights.

I liked this book very much. It moved a long at a good pace and the author used just the right amount of humor.

And now it’s that glorious time where I get to go choose my next book from my TBR pile! I hope everyone has a great week!

  1. March 18, 2012 at 9:26 pm

    Welcome to the Sunday Salon! I hope that you continue post and continue to add to your TBR pile.

  2. March 25, 2012 at 4:59 am

    I think The Millions sounds interesting! I had to pop in this morning and let you know that the Where Are You Reading challenge linky is still up and working so feel free to join in ;)

    I have to go work on my Sunday post now… too tired last night.

  3. March 25, 2012 at 7:38 am

    Nice review. I just re-joined Sunday Salon myself. Welcome and thanks for visiting my site. I’m glad you like the background.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 192 other followers

