Home > Reading > Sunday Salon: Who Will Run The Frog Hospital?

Sunday Salon: Who Will Run The Frog Hospital?

Yikes! I’m a day behind in posting to The Sunday Salon.

I didn’t finish my book, Who will Run The Frog Hospital, until the end of last week.

Saturday morning I was busy makng Jane Leeves Cottage Pie before heading off to The Brewery ArtWalk. That night my 7-yo neighbor girl invited me over for ice cream. She created a menu and everything!

Sunday I went on Walk #3  (Glassell Park) with Charles Fleming, author of  Secret Stairs: A Walking Guide to the Historic Staircases of Los Angeles. Charles leads walks from his book every month. It’s a lot of fun and great exercise!After the walk we had lunch at Auntie Em’s Kitchen. The food was good and I recommend going there, but if you want any of their specials of the day, get there early. They were out of several items by the time we got there. And no soup on weekends!!!  I had the Indian spice chickpea sandwich and a small dish of arugula, sliced strawberries, creamy goat cheese, and toasted almonds. So good! Auntie Em’s loves their canine guests and will bring out a bowl of water for your doggie.

Today was back to the office so here I am, finally writing my book review at 2 minutes til Midnight.

Who will Run The Frog Hospital is about adult, married Benoite-Marie Carr, “Berie” looking back to 1972 when she was 15, living in a small town in upstate New York. It’s about her friendship with Silsby Chausee, “Sils” who Berie idolizes. They work at an amusement park and at one point have to deal with an unwanted pregnancy.

This book was only 160 pages but so wonderfully written. I loved, loved, loved it. “A literary jewel” one reader appropriately said.
  1. April 6, 2012 at 11:55 am

    I am enjoying my lavender sugar from Auntie Em’s. The package is almost half gone. Love that lavender sweet tea.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

