Home > Reading > Sunday Salon: Dalmation Jasper

Sunday Salon: Dalmation Jasper

Yes, I am still pushing through On Beauty by Zadie Smith. Wondering if I’m ever going to get to the end of it.  I’m determined not to toss it in the “unfinished” pile!!!

Yesterday I blogged about my run in with The World’s Most Dangerous Fish and then went to the Bead Show at the Santa Monica Civic Auditorium where I bought this guy!

The place was wall to wall with strands of beads laid out on tables or hanging from little racks. There were also all kinds of…doodads…like little charms that you can use to make earrings or necklaces or whatever.

I fell head over heels for this  elephant made out of Dalmatian Jasper.

Imagine my surprise when I got home, Googled it, and learned that Dalmatian Jasper is the gemstone associated with my birth month, January, and my Zodiac sign Aquarius!! Sweet!

I also learned that Dalmatian Jasper is a variety of quartz, comes from Mexico, and protects against evil spirits and forces, and brings courage and relief from pain. It is also said to protect against venomous snake and spider bites.

It is also believed to protect one from nightmares, depression, and negative energies.

Here he is on top of the bookcase in the hall next to a little glass kitty cat.

And speaking of bookcases. I have four Ikea bookcases in the livingroom and a fifth waiting to be assembled. I’m in the process of reorganizing and categorizing the shelves. So far I have a shelf with mysteries & horror, a shelf with biographies of adventurers and writers, a shelf with biographies of political figures, and several shelves of fiction and the Arts. Putting them in some sort of order makes me even hungrier to sit down and read, but first I have got to finish On Beauty.

  1. May 21, 2012 at 7:07 pm

    I love this. My bookshelves are populated with books, elephants, owls, and peacocks!

    • May 27, 2012 at 2:53 pm

      Thank you! Do you have a photo on your blog showing your bookshelf animals/birds?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

