Home > Reading > Sunday Salon: I Finally Finished a Book!

Sunday Salon: I Finally Finished a Book!

Well phooey! I really wanted T.K. to win this year’s Indy 500. But I like Dario so I’m ok with him winning, and a bowl of Caroll Shelby’s chili makes everything better.

As for reading, after tossing both Zadie Smith’s On Beauty

and Jose Saramago’s Death With Interruptions on the discarded pile, it was with a doubtful sigh that I picked up a third book from my TBR stack, Kaye Gibbons’ Sights Unseen: A Novel.

What a relief when I was sucked in immediately, read more than half of it Friday night and finished it Saturday morning! So the problem was not me, it was the books. Oh happy day!

It seems wrong to say I enjoyed the book since it was about a young girl, Hattie Barnes, growing up in the 1960s with a mentally ill mother, but the story was very well written and I felt something for each and every one of the characters so I was very concerned with how they were all coping and interacting and the love they shared.

It was so well written that I had a good cry at the end.

Now I’m looking warily at my TBR pile wondering how my next selection will be.

  1. May 27, 2012 at 3:09 pm

    Congrats on getting over the finish hurdle. Sometimes it’s just not the right book! Pick another that grabs you. Cheers.

  2. May 27, 2012 at 5:30 pm

    You’re so right! Too many books out there waiting to be read. No sense in forcing myself to the end of one that doesn’t grab me.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

