Home > Reading > Sunday Salon: June 10, 2012

Sunday Salon: June 10, 2012

Got my notice this week that my last day of work will be July 27th. I’ve known it was coming for a long time, but now it’s official and real. Ugh.

As for reading, I’m on a roll! I’ve been reading Oprah’s Bookclub 2.0 selection, Wild, at lunch via the Kindle app on my phone, and my personal reading challenge with my friend in Germany, Les Miserables, every evening.

My Mom is finally out of her reading slump thanks to Richard Paul Evans and his Walk series. She read the second book in the series, Miles to Go, but her library didn’t have the first book, The Walk. She lives in a town in Northeastern Arkansas that is so small they don’t have a used book store so she drove down to a darling used bookstore in Batesville, but they didn’t have the book either.

Bookstore Kitteh

I didn’t have any luck finding it at my local used bookstore, Iliad, either so I ended up ordering it for her via Amazon. I have Prime so shipping is free and she’ll have it by Tuesday. Oh well, at least we both tried to patronize our local businesses.

Iliad didn’t have any of the Games of Thrones series either, which I’m really eager to read. One of the employees said when copies come in they never make it onto the shelves because it’s in such demand. Fine. Amazon it is then.

I did leave Iliad with two books. I added a hardcover of Pride & Prejudice to my Classics TBR pile and a hardcover of Linotte: The Early Diary of Anais Nin 1914-1920, which I see is $45 from Amazon sellers but I only paid $7.50 at Iliad. Sweet! According to reviews, I see that this is her unedited early diary.

So, all in all a happy bookish week.

  1. June 10, 2012 at 4:38 pm

    I think you did a wonderful thing by trying really hard to buy local!! I’m 30 miles from a bookstore too. And wow the kitteh looks just like one of my kittehs!!

    Also awesome that your mom is your reading buddy 🙂

    • August 7, 2012 at 10:31 pm

      Thanks, Laura! At least the long drive to the bookstore gets my Mom out of her house. That’s a good thing. 🙂

  2. June 11, 2012 at 8:55 am

    Sorry about the notice!!! Ugh for sure!

    Pride & Prejudice is so great… the writing is DELICIOUS!! Enjoy!

    • August 7, 2012 at 10:32 pm

      Thanks! I’m still working my way through Les Miz. Right now it’s too hot to read. I hate holding a book when I’m all sweaty.

  3. June 11, 2012 at 10:23 am

    Sad to hear about your job. The Anais Nin sounds like a steal. I have Fire, which is her later diaries, and have so far only read excerpts but they are beautiful. Enjoy!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

