Home > Reading > Sunday Salon: Happy Father’s Day!

Sunday Salon: Happy Father’s Day!

Thinking about my Daddy today. He died last year. He lived to be 85 years old and enjoyed his life until probably the last 6 months or so when he was really sick, so, that’s comforting to me. Anyway, love you Dad, wherever you are! Happy Father’s Day!

And now, on to books.  Wild (Oprah’s Book Club 2.0 Digital Edition): From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail [Kindle Edition] What a can’t-put-it-down book that was!

I just discovered the joys of hiking last year so I was totally living every step along the trail with author Cheryl Strayed. Even as she was getting ready to head out to the trail that first day and her backpack was so heavy she couldn’t lift it I had to smile. I remember the very first time I set out on The Big Parade, a two-day stair walk across Los Angeles, I was carrying so much water in my backpack I nearly died within the first 30 minutes of walking. Somehow I managed to survive for a whole 6 miles, which is pretty impressive considering I had lived a sedentary life up until then and had done no training. I just put on some shoes and said “Let’s see how far I can go.”

This book jumps back and forth between Cheryl’s 1100 mile journey on the Pacific Crest Trail and her pre-trail life and troubled childhood. It’s about her spiritual and physical struggles.

Cheryl is my hero. As much as I love hiking, I would never be brave enough to walk off into the wilderness by myself. The thought of coming face to face with a bear or mountain lion on the trail is scary enough, but what I’d mostly be terrified of is what evil-minded humans I might run into. As we learn in the book, the bears, snakes, and mountain lions are more easily dealt with than finding yourself alone with two human males carrying bows & arrows sitting next to you talking about your body as if you’re not even there. That is the only time I felt real terror for Cheryl.

As for Les Miserables, I’ve finished Part I – Fantine and have started Part II – Cosette.

I have so much catching up to do on my blog, but I’m cooking up some Indian food before heading out to Long Beach and San Pedro later so I don’t think it’s going to happen today.

Have a good week everybody!

  1. June 17, 2012 at 3:05 pm

    When you wrote “Long Beach” my ears perked up! Yay! Another local blogger! 🙂 I’ve read so many positive things about Wild. Glad to hear you enjoyed it. Have a great Sunday!

    • August 7, 2012 at 10:29 pm

      One of my most beloved places in the world is in Long Beach. The Queen Mary! Is it as bloody hot down there as it is here in the 818? Probably not.

      • August 8, 2012 at 4:24 pm

        I doubt it. Right now it’s about 85 or so. I’m wishing I had an a.c. 🙂

  2. June 17, 2012 at 6:44 pm

    Nice post. I’m really psyched up to read “Wild” sometime this summer. My husband & I are hikers so I figure we will relate. Thanks for your review … Cheryl sounds pretty cool

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

