Home > Adventures > 2nd Annual L.A. River Kayaking Adventure

2nd Annual L.A. River Kayaking Adventure

This was my second time kayaking on the L.A. River. Last year I was part of Paddle The L.A. River’s pilot program and I loved it. This year, two tour operators were granted licenses to operate river tours. Paddle The L.A. River’s dates sold out fast so my friend and I booked our trip with L.A. River Expeditions.

After we signed in and turned in our waivers we were assigned to our kayaks, PFD (personal floatation device, aka life jacket), and helmet. The sun was intense so I put my big sun hat on first to shade my face and neck and then put the helmet on top of that.

L.A. River Expeditions is very hands-on, do-it-yourself. We helped carry our boats in and out of the water and over rocky ledges. Between that and the paddling, we got a good upper body workout!

I wish I could describe the feeling when you first glide onto the water in your boat. It’s one of the most fun things ever!!! And seeing blue herons and snowy egrets up close from the water is amazing. I would love to be a river guide just so I could be on the water all day.

Can’t wait to go again next year!

  1. Laurie
    July 30, 2012 at 11:32 pm

    What an awesome experience, Jinjer! Good reading about your adventures.

  2. July 31, 2012 at 8:59 am

    sounds fun. Was there a lot of water this time of year? I guess I dont know the LA River

    • August 7, 2012 at 10:26 pm

      The part of the river we were in was maybe waist deep at the most. Not much rain this year.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

