Home > Reading > Sunday Salon: The Walk

Sunday Salon: The Walk

It’s been a busy couple of weeks! Here’s a bullet list since I’ve only managed to blog about one of them so far.

  • Discovered a really good band thanks to the guys re-tiling my bathroom: Needtobreathe
  • Went to a two-day Arab Spring shorts film series.
  • Walked 11 of the 16 miles from Downtown to the ocean.
  • Took a tour of Heritage Square.
  • Had lunch at the San Antonio Winery.
  • Visited a Thai version of Costco.
  • Spent an entire day reading at the library (heaven!) while my car was having some work done.
  • Thanksgiving!
  • Checked the first of 21 California Missions off my must visit list.

I also managed to read two books, but am only talking about one of them for now because I have this…thing…with my friend in Germany where we both read a book and write up our review of the book but we don’t send the review until both of us have read the book. She hasn’t finished this particular book yet so I don’t want to say anything about the book on my blog in case she should stumble upon it.

The book I can talk about now is one that my Mom recommended to me. It’s rare that Mom and I like the same book. Mysteries and detective stories rarely hold my interest. She loves them. I love long descriptive passages and lots of detail. She complains that the author “Sure does take the long way around to get to the point.”

Once in a while, however, one of us finds a book that neither of us can put down. This time it was The Walk by Richard Paul Evans.  It’s about an ad exec who loses his wife, his job, and his home. Just as he’s about to kill himself, he hears a voice telling him to live. Feeling a need to walk away from what’s left of his life in Seattle,  he looks at a map and chooses the farthest city he can walk to…Key West, Florida. This book is about the people he meets, the experiences he has, and the life lessons he learns along the way.

Since I’m a hiker and a walker, I was totally into this book and wanted to grab my pack and take off on my own walk across the country!

Now I need to read the second book in the series, Miles to Go.

  1. November 25, 2012 at 10:06 am

    The Walk does sound like a great book…I like your list of activities. Doesn’t it seem as though we’ve accomplished a lot more when we list things?

    Here’s MY SUNDAY SALON POST

  2. swright9
    December 2, 2012 at 2:48 pm

    The Walk sounds like a good read, thanks. http://www.thecuecard.com/

    • August 17, 2016 at 8:04 pm

      Sorry for my delayed response! YES!!! It DOES seem like we’ve accomplished a lot more when we list them out. I keep an annual list of activities, books read, movies seen in the back of my annual journal.

      I need to read the next book(s) in The WLk series! Have only read 3 so far.

    • August 17, 2016 at 8:06 pm

      Thank you and congrats on your 2nd tennis win of the summer!!!!

  3. December 2, 2012 at 7:34 pm

    LOve the pics and the walk! I wanted to let you know that I have posted the new 2013 WHERE Are You Reading Challenge sign up. I know you have signed up last year so thought you may want to again! SO much fun!

    • August 17, 2016 at 8:08 pm

      Sorry for this majorly delayed response! Have I missed the 2016 Where Are You Reading challenge? I keep forgetting to note locations!!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

