Home > Adventures > 100 Hikes in the San Gabriels: Burkhart Trail – Buckhorn Campground to Cooper Canyon Falls and Little Rock Creek

100 Hikes in the San Gabriels: Burkhart Trail – Buckhorn Campground to Cooper Canyon Falls and Little Rock Creek

Recently, me and one of my hiking buddies decided we were bored with the Santa Monica Mountains so we’ve started doing hikes from one of her many hiking books, Trails of the Angeles: 100 Hikes in the San Gabriels by John W. Robinson.

#62/#62-1 Burkhart Trail: Buckhorn Campground to Cooper Canyon Falls and Little Rock Creek
4-5 miles
900′ gain/loss

Shoutout to President Obama for giving the amazing San Gabriel Mountains National Monument Status! A million thank yous!

Wow! These hikes just keep getting better and better! With this one on Burkhart Trail, we found ourselves constantly exclaiming how we really felt like we were in the forest and how beautiful it was. We even found real, running water!

My friend is an Earth Science teacher so I learn a lot about the various plants and rocks we encounter on these hikes. The white streaks of what I thought was remnants of some tagger’s paint on rocks is actually some kind of mineral deposit. I guess that’s proof right there that I’m a city kid.

If you need more proof, you should’ve been there to witness the scene I made when I was being stalked by a huge bee. I did everything I know I’m not supposed to do. I ran, I screamed, I took off my hat and swatted at it. God really does look after children and fools…

After the hike we made our third visit to Newcomb’s for the best hamburger I’ve ever eaten in my life and have been craving ever since.

But yeah! Do this hike! It’s amazing!

 

 

  1. October 12, 2014 at 6:18 pm

    Cool walk. Hundreds of photos of Huguette Clark’s estate (she gave the money for the bird refuge named for her sister), the mysterious home called Bellosguardo, are on the website of the book “Empty Mansions,” at http://emptymansionsbook.com.

    • August 17, 2016 at 7:28 pm

      Ooooo thank you so much, Bill! I’ll check out the website. I was hoping the home would be open for tours by now because I’m going back to Santa Barbara next month, but it doesn’t look like it will be open to the public any time soon, unfortunately.

  2. February 11, 2015 at 8:10 pm

    I love the National Forest font on those old signs so, so much.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

