Home > Art, Culture, etc. > Book Event: RONALD SEARLE’S AMERICA Book Launch

Book Event: RONALD SEARLE’S AMERICA Book Launch


I still don’t know what possessed me to RSVP for this event hosted by the History & Culture of Los Angeles Meetup Group. I wasn’t familiar with the author or subject of the book “Ronald Searle’s America” but I recognized some of the illustrations in the write up and the description of Searle’s life sounded interesting and there was mention of brunch so, why not?

 

Author Matt Jones

I’m really glad I went! The Welsh author, Matt Jones, gave a really interesting presentation that included humorous stories about “stalking” Searle, meeting with him & his wife at a restaurant, and being invited to his home in TourTour, France. In addition to photos of Searle’s sketches & illustration he was able to share photos of his studio, desk, bookshelves and personal notes. The presentation was so good that there was a collective “Ohhhhh” from the audience when Matt said “And that’s the end.”

 

The book

I loved the illustrations so much that I decided I had to buy the book, which Matt signed.

 

The print

Everyone who bought a book also got this limited edition print.


Center Stage Gallery in Burbank is a nice little gallery.


I wanted almost every print and book in there. The current exhibit is the work of Eyvind Earle, an artist who designed Christmas cards, starting in the 1930s.


I missed that book launch, but at $300, it’s not in my budget anyway. I wish it was because it’s a beautiful book.

img_0851
I will try to make it to the exhibit on his work at Forest Lawn this Spring

Shout outs to Charles from the Meetup Group for convincing Matt to give a talk and to Porto’s for the yummy brunch.

 

Porto’s potato balls & pastries!

 

  1. February 19, 2016 at 8:12 am

    Wow, you’re quite the photographer. How fun to be able to go to exhibits like this. I RSVP to too many things, too, but I’m glad you enjoyed yourself!

    • August 17, 2016 at 7:08 pm

      Thank you, Rachel! I really enjoyed this exhibit. Did you ever get an EMT job or are you still looking? Thanks for visiting my blog!

  2. March 19, 2016 at 4:02 am

    Whatever the reason was that you’ve RSVP’d to that event, it was obviously a very good decision. I’ve got to say that I have never heard about Searle before or have seen any of his cartoons. I’m not that much into cartoons myself and therefore don’t know many probably big names.

    I find it interesting when an artist or author offers some insight into their work, and – in this case – insight into the work of the artist who is featured in his book. Glad to hear that he did it in a very interesting way.

    I also like the prints in your photo that show the work of Eyvind Earle. Never heard of him before either but I liked those prints I saw on the wall and so I googled his name. What an interesting style he has!! Wow. Sometimes his paintings look like straight out of an animated movie… and then I read that he has even worked for Disney.

    I hope you’ll make it to his exhibit!

    Lastly, that second-to-last photo… the one before the potato balls and pastries photo… looks a bit, um, wonky 😉

    (And the potato ball reminds me a bit of Bitterballen… although Bitterballen have nothing to do with potatos… but these two look similar LOL).

    • August 17, 2016 at 7:10 pm

      As you know, I did make it over to the Eyvind Earle exhibit since you were kind enough to comment on my post, but I wasn’t impressed with the prints they had on display. Guess I’m really only into his Christmas card prints.

      What is wonky about the picture I wonder? I’m not seeing it.

      Mmmm potato balls & Bitterballen. Gimme a plate of them.

  1. February 6, 2016 at 9:12 pm
  2. June 12, 2016 at 1:25 pm

Leave a Reply

