Home > Adventures > Eyvind Earle Exhibit at Forest Lawn

Eyvind Earle Exhibit at Forest Lawn

  As I had mentioned in this post, I wanted to see the Disney legend, Eyvind Earle exhibit at the Forest Lawn Museum this Spring. Well, it’s Spring and I just happened to be down the street at the Bauer Pottery showroom yesterday so I decided to pop in.

I’d never been to this particular Forest Lawn before. It’s the one where Michael Jackson, Clark Gable, Carole Lombard, Humphrey Bogart and, fittingly, Walt Disney are buried, along with a quarter million other people.

Even if you have no interest in visiting any of the graves, you might want to just cruise through in your car. The place is massive and very pretty. Their are no gothic tombstones or those horrid modern ones with people’s photos on them do what you see is grass, trees, flowers, statues, and amazing art & architecture.

  Don’t park here. The Museum is way up at the top of the hill. Go all the way up, turn left, all the way up, and a second left. 

  
Next door to the museum is this lovely building:

  There is a ginormous painted panorama inside but you have to catch the presentation at the top of the hour. I didn’t want to wait 40 minutes for the next one so I’ll catch it next time.
Following are photos of the views (imagine it on a sunny clear day!) and Eyvind Earle exhibit. I like his winter / Christmas card designs a lot better than the ones displayed at this exhibit.

   
    
    
  Sleeping Beauty castle.
   
   That’s Downtown!
Found a Tastee Freeze over on Fletcher. Got the butterscotch dip cone. I don’t recommend it.

   
 

Categories: Adventures
  1. June 19, 2016 at 4:49 am

    Is Forest Lawn the name of that very graveyard or a general term for these kind of huge graveyards? Would I be able to go directly to the graves of e.g. Michael Jackson or Walt Disney? Are there directions where to find them?

    Nothing against gothic tombstones … kinda like them… but I hate modern ones, too. And no! Please no photos!

    Indeed this looks like a very beautiful place. Eyvind Earle! I definitely remember him from another post! Very unique art. Although not exactly a big fan of paintings, I like some of his stuff very much. Then again not so much into others. From the ones you post here, I like those with the yellow/golden color. And the horses.

    • August 17, 2016 at 7:00 pm

      I just read a discussion on another blog and most agreed that it is a major no no to not reply to comments on ones own blog so I’m going back and replying to comments on this blog.

      Forest Lawn is the name for several cemeteries, not just one. I think you can go directly to the graves of people who are not in private areas. I think Michael Jackson is in a private area, for obvious reasons.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

